+7 (495) 660-52-28



Compliance validation schemes


9 basic product certification schemes in the Customs Union

In its Decision No. 621 of 7 April 2011, “On regulation on procedures for application of the model schemes of conformity assessment (confirmation) with the Technical Regulations of the Customs Union”, the Customs Union Commission approved nine certification schemes: 1s, 2s, 5s, 6s, 7s and 8s for mass production, and 3s, 4s and 9s for batch/job production. Each scheme involves a specified set of steps, following which a conclusion is reached as to the issue of a certificate of conformance.

All certification schemes have common steps:

  • the applicant files a certification application with the product certification authority, enclosing documentation;
  • the application is reviewed and a decision is made on it;
  • the product is labelled with the standard certification mark (following the issue of the certificate).

The other steps depend on the scheme.

Table 1. Customs Union certification schemes (click on the table to view)

Customs Union certification schemes-1.png

Elements of certification schemes

In terms of studies to be conducted, a certification scheme can involve:

  1. Testing of product samples by an accredited laboratory, with a test report to be produced.
  2. Review of product design.
  3. Review of technical documentation.
  4. Production assessment by the certification authority in the form of an audit of production facilities or availability of a certified quality system.
  5. Follow-up inspection of certified products and/or QMS.

Sample testing

Testing of selected standard samples is required under the following certification schemes: 1s — 4s.

Schemes 5s and 6s provide for a review of product design. Type testing is required under schemes 7s and 8s.

Review of technical documentation

A certificate of conformity can be issued based on a review of technical documentation under scheme 9s only. Certification under this scheme is only available for:

  • an imported product batch;
  • sophisticated products designed for industrial applications within the Customs Union.

Production assessment

Certification sometimes requires proof of safety not only of the product itself. Certification under schemes 1s, 5s or 7s is impossible without an audit of production facilities.

A condition for certification under schemes 2s, 6s and 8s is the certification of the quality management system. In this case, the certification authority shall measure the performance of the system in place.

Follow-up inspection

A follow-up inspection has no effect on the granting of a certificate of conformance. It is designed to ensure the safety of products already certified. The certification authority shall make sure that the products remain compliant with the technical regulations of the Customs Union after the issue of the certificate.

Average frequency of follow-up inspections: once a year.

A follow-up inspection is required for certification under the following schemes: 1s, 2s, 5s, 6s, 7s or 8s.

6 declaration schemes in the Customs Union

Six schemes are available for the declaration of product conformity with the Technical Regulations of the Customs Union: 1d, 3d, 5d and 6d for mass production, and 2d and 4d for batch / job production.

The declaration schemes have also been approved, along with the certification schemes, underCustoms Union Commission Resolution No. 621 of 7 April 2011, “On regulation on procedures for application of the model schemes of conformity assessment (confirmation) with the Technical Regulations of the Customs Union”.

The main distinction between declaration and certification schemes is the option of conformance review without the involvement of an independent party.

Table 2. Customs Union declaration schemes (click on the table to view)

Customs Union declaration schemes-1.png

Applicant's evidence

Registration of a declaration based on the applicant's sample testing results is available under schemes 1d or 2d only. In this context, scheme 1d provides additionally for in-process monitoring by the manufacturer.

Declaration under schemes involving an independent party

The other declaration schemes (3d, 4d, 5d and 6d) provide for independent assessment of conformity: testing of standard samples is provided exclusively by an accredited testing laboratory.

Scheme 5d replaces sample testing with product type assessment and in-process monitoring. In-process monitoring is also required under schemes 3d and 6d.

A QMS is only required for certification under scheme 6d. In this context, the certification authority conducts a follow-up inspection of product manufacture after registration declaration.

Теги: certification schemes, declaration schemes

Back to the list